Photographer of the Year Competition

posted by Anon. in Club Meetings

Members had the opportunity of entering their best images of the season in the final competition, which would decide who would win the trophy for the Photographer of the Year.With a total of64 images the judge for the evening, the ever popular Peter Jackman, was able to give his usual fair and constructive comments.Results as follows:

Digital (31 entries)

Four 20s (maximum points) were awarded to:

  • Bill Pound "Cattle Egrets"
  • Nigel GloverWright "Bushbuck"
  • Graham Piper "Hour Glass"
  • Sylvia Blackmore "Summer Shower"

Sylvia's "Summer Shower" was chosen as the best in this section.

Prints(27 entries)

Three 20s were awarded to:

  • Tony Bates"Wast Water Dawn"
  • Nigel Fenner "Shadows in the Wood"
  • Ivor Cowley "Tower Bridge at Dusk"

Ivor's "Tower Bridge at Dusk" was chosen as the best print.

Slides(6 entries)

One 20 was awarded to:

  • Paul Davies "Light from the Ashes" (best slide)

Well done to all these members.

Peter had no hesitation in proclaiming Sylvia Blackmore as the Photographer of the Year with her image of "Summer Shower" and went on to say it was the best photograph he had seen this year.Congratulations Sylvia - what a wonderful first full season of competing you've had.

Many thanks to Peter for his valuable comments on his "Silver Jubilee" visit to the club (his first was in May 1984).

Also thanks to Graham (stepping in at the last moment) and Geoff for presenting all the images.

It was good to see Tony back for the first half after his recent accident. Hope you continue your recovery well, Tony.


Copyright © 2009 - 2020, Whitchurch Hill Camera Club